2020 FLEUR DE LIS REGATTA – September 12, 2020


The event is co-sponsored by Lake Pontchartrain Women’s Sailing Association and Southern Yacht Club. The Organizing Authority is the Lake Pontchartrain Women’s Sailing Association, P.O. Box 791966, New Orleans, LA 70179. The regatta is to be held on the South Shore of Lake Pontchartrain and hosted by Southern Yacht Club (SYC).


The Regatta will be governed by the rules as defined in The 2017-2020 Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS). The US Sailing prescriptions will apply.


50% of crew members, including the skipper, must be female over the age 12 years

prior to September 12, 2020. Participants do not need to belong to a yacht club, although membership in LPWSA is highly encouraged.

2.2 Fleets may be divided into classes based upon participation. Three boats will be needed to make a fleet or class. The regatta is open to all PHRF monohull and multihull boats which will compete under the PHRF (ToD) racing system. Each competing boat shall have a current, valid GYA PHRF Certificate. Boats without a current GYA PHRF Certificate may be assigned a PHRF rating at the discretion of the Race Committee. This assigned rating may not be protested.


The entry fee for each participating yacht is $25.00. There is a $5.00 deduction for LPWSA members.


Registration is available on Regatta Network. Registration shall be completed prior to the skippers’ meeting. All fees are to be paid by this time.

5. SCHEDULE (tentative)

Friday – 1830 – Skipper’s meeting at SYC Tiki Bar. Per social distancing, 1 person per boat.
Saturday – First Warning Signal at 10:25 – Additional Races to follow.

Trophy presentation at SYC Tiki Bar one hour after RC docks.

The entry fee for each participating yacht is $25.00. There is a $5.00 deduction for LPWSA members.


The sailing instructions will be the SYC General Sailing Instructions available online on the SYC website.


The Low Point System of RRS Appendix A will apply. There will be no throw outs. This changes A2. Two races are scheduled; one race constitutes a series.


Awards will be given as follows: 1st, 2nd and 3rd for each division. A LPWSA Fleur de Lis Perpetual Trophy will be awarded in both spinnaker and non-spinnaker divisions to the 1st place finisher.


Complementary housing is available for out of town competitors. Contact LPWSA directly at lpwsa.info@gmail.com.


Fleur de Lis Regatta Chairman: Ellen Barrett Artopoeus (elle@barretttitle.com)
Host Yacht Club: Southern Yacht Club (SYC), 105 N Roadway, New Orleans, LA 504-288- 4200.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: